New Albany Bicentennial Public Art Project


Project Partners:

Carnegie Center for Art & History
New Albany Urban Enterprise Association  


Horseshoe Foundation of Floyd County


General Mills Foundation
Community Foundation of Southern Indiana
The Tribune
Michael and Noelle Gohmann

Kappa Kappa Kappa Inc. New Albany Associate Chapter

Community Donations made at, including: Melissa Anderson, Julia Derloshon, Destinations Booksellers, Sam Ellington, Douglas England, George and Nancy Everbach, Terry Ginkins, Jennifer Morlen, Michelle Owings, Mike and Beth Pattison, Sally Thomas, and all the others who generously supported this project.

Community Donors made at

Community Donors from Reading Relay at Destinations Booksellers

In Kind:

Idealogy Marketing + Design

The Tribune
Kentucky Museum Without Walls

Richard Kopp, Associate Professor, and Nicole Melton, 2010 Soph., Computer Graphics Technology, Signage Layout

John Taylor, Laserworks Awards, Jeffersonville, IN
Steve Dominick, Projection Space, Lexington, KY
Hawkeye Security
S.K. Signs and Banner

Site Owners and Participating Businesses:

MJ Resch LLC

New Albany Housing Authority

New Albany-Floyd County Building Authority

City of New Albany

Roger Baylor, John Campbell, and Gregg Rochman, New Albanian Brewing Company Bank Street Brewhouse
Mike and David Futter
Gary and Melissa Humphrey and Rosie Bryant, River City Winery
Joe LaRocca, YMCA
St. Marks United Church of Christ, Mike Wright and Reverend D. John E. Manzo  

Historic images and research assistance courtesy of the New Albany-Floyd County Public Library Stuart Barth Wrege Indiana History Room

Special Thanks:
Matt Denison and the Board of Public Works & Safety
Mickey Thompson, Street Department
Jim Rosenbarger, Architect, New Albany Farmer's Market Building
Susan Kaempfer and Andy Terrell, New Albany Farmer's Market
The News and Tribune, Bill Hanson, Mary Tuttle and Holli Hovious

Historic Texts for 2011-2013 Installations by David Barksdale and Robyn Sekula  
Photographs of 2010 & 2011 artworks by Kevin McGloshen
Photographs of 2012 & 2013 artworks by Christopher Fryer
Brad White, Installation Liaison
Daniel Pfalzgraf, Installation Liaison for 2012 & 2013
Nicole Markle, Programming Coordinator

In-kind sponsors for 2013 artworks

In-kind sponsors for Tiffany Carbonneau’s artwork:

Brian Robertson and Jim Hunchman, DUKE ENERGY, Mickey Thompson, New Albany Street Department, MJ Resch LLC and Jim Houghton.

In-kind sponsors for Lee and Betty Benson’s artwork:

Habitat for Humanity

In-kind sponsors for 2012 artworks

In-kind sponsors for R. Michael Wimmer’s artwork:

Mike Kelly at WM Kelley Company, Inc. for his excellent craftsmanship and Rick Kimes Construction, Inc. for installing Growth of Education on May 29th during a severe thunderstorm.

In-kind sponsors for Jacob Stanley’s artwork:

Taylor Cantril, Lilly Bonwich, Andrea Hutchinson, Jerry Bates, Scott Cooper, St. Marks United Church of Christ, Greg Sekula of Indiana Landmarks, John Bierly, Trish Korte (New Albany High School Visual Arts Teacher) and NAHS students: Will Taylor, Amber Schroeder and Cody Presley.

In-kind sponsors for Nathan Smith’s artwork:

Glenn Smith; Darren Smith; Daniel Pfalzgraf; Nathan Cole, Builder; Cedarville Lumber Mill (Bethlehem, KY); Mike Pattison and the Southern Indiana Botanical Society and Earth First.

In-kind sponsors for 2011 artworks

In-Kind Sponsors for Janis Martin, Ruth Andrews & Michael Slaski's artwork:

Mary Eastman, Suella Gerber and Matt Martin

In-Kind Sponsors for Scott Scarboro's artwork:

Craig Porter, ECI Wind and Solar • Baron Browning, SolarTEK Energy of Kentucky • Allen Brown, Voice-Over Broadcast Sound, Inc. • Lee Kelly, WNAS Radio 88.1 FM • Butch Celani, BC Music • Betty Menges, Stuart B. Wrege Indiana History Room, New Albany-Floyd County Public Library • Craig Garvin, Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc. • The Filson Historical Society, Library and Special Collections • Larry Estep, Former WNAS-FM DJ • Bob Edwards • Ladonna Nicolas and Larry Shapin • Louisville Visual Art Association Microloan Program • Vanesa Olson - J. Baird • Gregg Weaver • Mose Putney, AIA, Putney Architecture • Gregg Rochman, Shine Properties

In-Kind Sponsors for Dominic Guarnaschelli's artwork:

Niemco Fabricators • Mike Parker • Linda Hodgin • Rick Gassman • Michael Winchester • Glenn Growe • Byron Kissel • Wilbur Linttrell • Paul Hunter • Steve Payne, Payne-Sparkman Manufacturing, Inc. • Sally Moss, Little Loomhouse • Benjamin Couch Payne, Blackbird 502 • Staff of Indiana History Room, New Albany-Floyd County Public Library • Niccolo Guarnaschelli • Imogene Dryer